These are the 22 high-risk countries on South Africa’s revised travel ban list

By Marvin Charles 19h in the past

Share this text:

Cape Town – The authorities has launched a revised list of high-risk countries for worldwide travel. The new list signifies a major lower in countries from the place travellers are not allowed to enter South African borders.

In a press release, the Department of Home Affairs mentioned: “We continue to be reminded that the Covid-19 pandemic is still with us and we need to continue to take precautions. In its last meeting, the Cabinet instructed the ministers of Health, Home Affairs and Tourism to lead a process to review the list. The review of the list of high-risk countries was done in such a way that it strikes a balance between saving lives and protecting livelihoods.”

The division mentioned nothing had modified so far as travellers from the continent of Africa had been involved.

“People from high-risk countries who may visit SA fall in the following categories: business travellers, holders of critical skills visas, investors, and people on international missions in sports, arts, culture, and science.

“In addition, we recognise that there are a number of regular visitors from mainly European countries that have been accustomed to long visits to our country during our summer season when it is winter in the Northern Hemisphere,” it mentioned.

The new list now incorporates 22 countries as a substitute of the 57 beforehand listed. The announcement follows considerations from tourism foyer teams who’ve mentioned the list might have a devastating impression on tourism income.

  1. Argentina
  2. Germany
  3. Peru
  4. Bangladesh
  5. India
  6. Philippines
  7. Belgium
  8. Indonesia
  9. Russia
  10. Brazil
  11. Iran
  12. Spain
  13. Canada
  14. Iraq
  15. United Kingdom
  16. Chile
  17. Italy
  18. USA
  19. Colombia
  20. Mexico
  21. France
  22. Netherlands

Under the laws, enterprise travellers should request permission from the division to travel from high-risk countries to South Africa.

In addition, all travellers are required to provide proof of a damaging Covid-19 take a look at consequence not older than 72 hours from the time of departure, supplemented by screening on arrival and antigen testing at the airport, ought to they fail to move screening protocols.

Most just lately quite a few enterprise executives and immigration attorneys have despatched emails to the Department of Home Affairs requesting permission to travel for enterprise to high-risk countries and again. There had been no responses since the reopening of worldwide travel on October1.

The division mentioned that inside the first two weeks that the [email protected] e mail deal with had been in operation, 4 701 purposes had been acquired, largely from traders in agriculture, manufacturing, mining, and tourism.

Of these purposes, 3 113 have been accredited.

Cape Argus


Back to top button