Clean sweep for DA in Gauteng Metros as Randall Williams voted Tshwane mayor – SABC News

The Democratic Alliance’s (DA) Randall Williams has been elected Mayor in the City of Tshwane. Katlego Mathebe was elected for a second time period as Speaker.

On Monday, the DA’s Dr Mpho Phalatse was voted as the brand new City of Johannesburg mayor.

Phalatse received 144 of the 270 attainable votes in the City. The African National Congress (ANC) mayoral candidate, Mpho Moerane received 121 votes.

Dr Phalatse mentioned her election alerts that democracy in South Africa is maturing, with multi-social gathering governments changing into the order of the day.

A primary feminine Mayor for the nation’s financial hub, Phalatse mentioned it’s now time for the residents of town to have entry to fundamental providers, no matter their political affiliation.

Phalatse was cheered by DA members in the council, as the announcement was made by the newly elected Speaker who can also be a DA member, Vasco Da Gama.

Ekhurhuleni mayor

The DA’s Tania Campbell was additionally elected the brand new mayor of the Ekurhuleni Metro Municipality on Monday.

Of the 221 votes cast, Campbell received 116 while the African National Congress’ (ANC) Mzwandile Masina obtained 105 votes.

Campbell mentioned the method of giving the individuals of Ekurhuleni their dignity again begins. She mentioned she is going to make sure that each tender that’s issued is completed so in a clear and honest method and guarantee there’s worth for money.

Campbell says now’s the time to get town working once more, “This is the change our people have been waiting for, for 20 years. Now is not the time for more promises, now is the time to get things done. For far too long our people have been living in substandard conditions. Our residents have been living in a metro where service delivery is non-existent where millions of rands are spent on housing projects, and substations and yet not to show. This ends today.”



Back to top button